Organization of the faculty

The Faculty of Philosophy in Banja Luka was established by the Law of the University, adopted by the National Assembly of Republika Srpska in mid-1993. The first generation of students of the Faculty of Philosophy in Banja Luka started the studies of the academic year 1994/95. For the beginning of the work of such higher education institution in Banja Luka region, the youth generations have been waiting for over fifty years. At that time (before the founding of the Faculty of Philosophy) in Banja Luka there was organized training of teaching staff. In addition to the teaching school, which has been operating since 1933, there was also a Higher Pedagogical School (1950) in this city, which was transformed into the Pedagogical Academy. This continuity of education of teaching staff in Banja Luka was also confirmed by the University Law of 1993, which established that "The Pedagogical Academy in Banja Luka continues its work as a Faculty of Philosophy in Banja Luka". With this Decision, the National Assembly legally shaped the needs of this area for the education of teaching staff for educational institutions in the Republic of Srpska. Curriculum and programs were prepared, the first teachers were selected and on October 1, 1994, the work of the Faculty of Philosophy in Banja Luka has started with seven study departments.

Since 1995, the Faculty of Philosophy has continuously recorded successes in its work and development. After two years of work of four study departments in the Faculty of Philosophy (Geography, Mathematics, Physics and Biology), the National Assembly of Republika Srpska formed the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics on June 12, 1996, and after two years from the Department of Physical Education, the Faculty of Physical Education and sports.

In February 2005, within the framework of the Study Program for Teacher's Education, the Center for Teacher's Training in Derventa has started its work. The decision of the University Board of Management on March 27, 2009, has licensed 9 study programs and the formation of the Faculty of Philology and the Faculty of Political Science. By that time, with 15 study programs, the Faculty of Philosophy, according to the number of study programs, students and professors, was the largest faculty of the University of Banja Luka and probably in BiH.

In addition to teaching and lectures, the Faculty of Philosophy was also engaged in scientific and publishing activities. Since the establishment, even during the war, the Faculty has organized several successful scientific meetings and round tables. In addition, the teachers and associates of this Faculty participated in a number of scientific meetings at the universities in Belgrade, Novi Sad, Niš, Kragujevac, East Sarajevo and abroad.

Publishing activity falls into important segments of the engagement of the Faculty, teachers and students. For more than ten years, the Faculty has published the Journal of Humanities and Social Sciences ''Radovi''. In addition, the Faculty gradually developed its own publishing activity. For the purposes of teaching and scientific research, the Faculty is developing its own library, which now has over eighty thousand books. The Faculty of Philosophy in Banja Luka successfully cooperates with the philosophical, philological and teaching faculties.

When enrolling at the Faculty of Philosophy in Banja Luka, in the first cycle of studies, the student actually enrolls in one of the six study programs of the Faculty of Philosophy:

  1. Study program of philosophy
  2. Study program of pedagogy
  3. Study program of psychology
  4. Study program of history
  5. Study program of the teacher's study
  6. Study program for preschool education

By the Decision of the Ministry of Education and Culture of the Republic of Srpska (Decision number: 07.1-4462 / 07 dated 02.07.2007), all the study programs of the Faculty of Philosophy were licensed and got the permission to work within the University of Banja Luka.

Teaching is carried out according to the curriculum of the appropriate teaching groups at our Faculty in the form of lectures (general and special courses), exercises, seminars, consultations, mentoring, study practice, professional and pedagogical practices, professional excursions.

By completing the first cycle study, which lasts for three or four years, the student gets 180 points or 240 points according to the European System for Transferring Points (hereinafter: ECTS), a person acquires an academic title and an appropriate professional title in a particular scientific field, certain scientific fields, with an indication of the number of ECTS points.

List of professional and academic titles acquired by the end of the first cycle of studies at the study programs of the Faculty of Philosophy, University of Banja Luka:

  1. Philosophy: Professor of philosophy with 180 ECTS (three-year study).
  2. Pedagogy: Graduate pedagogue with 240 ECTS (four-year studies).
  3. Psychology: A graduated psychologist with 180 ECTS (three-year study).
  4. History: History Professor with 240 ECTS (four-year studies).
  5. Teacher's degree: Class teacher with 240 ECTS (four-year studies).
  6. Pre-school education: Graduate educator with 180 ECTS (three-year study).

After completing the first cycle of studies, another cycle of one year (60 ECTS) or two years (120 ECTS) can be enrolled at this Faculty depending on the duration of the first cycle.

At the Faculty of Philosophy, candidates can also enroll doctoral studies from the Teacher's Study and Pedagogy. Studies last 3 years (180 ECT).