About the Faculty

The Faculty of Philosophy in Banja Luka was established by the Law about the University, adopted by the National Assembly of Republika Srpska on July 12, 1993. The first generation of students of the Faculty of Philosophy in Banja Luka started the studies of the academic year 1994/1995.

In 1925, School of Teacher Education was established in Banja Luka, and in 1950, a Higher Pedagogical School, which in 1969 grew into the Pedagogical Academy, which in 1994 continued its work as a Faculty of Philosophy. The Faculty had ten sections: 1. Serbian Language and Literature, 2. History (History and Latin Language), 3. Pedagogy, 4. Mathematics and Informatics, 5. Geography (Geography and Ethnology), 6. English Language and Literature, 7 Philosophy and Sociology, 8. Psychology, 9. Physics and 10. Biology.

In November 1994, a large number of students and a number of professors were sent to the front, for defending Republika Srpska. After successfully completing the task, and especially after the end of the war, the Faculty continually recorded successes in its work and development. Its four departments (Geography, Mathematics, Physics, Biology) became an integral part of the newly founded Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics in 1996, and a special faculty of Physical Education and Sports was formed in 2001 from the Department of Physical Education and Sport.

The Faculty of Philology was founded in 2009, and it consisted of five philological departments that were previously organized within the Faculty of Philosophy (Serbian Language and Literature, English Language and Literature, German Language and Literature, Italian Language and Literature, Serbian Language and Literature, and French Language and Literature). In the same year, the Faculty of Political Science was established, with four study programs (Political Science, Sociology, Journalism and Communication, and Social Work).

After all the changes, at the Faculty of Philosophy, today there are six study programs: Philosophy, History, Pedagogy, Psychology, Teacher's Study and Preschool Education. The Faculty of Philosophy has about 2,000 students in all three study cycles, and about 80 teachers and associates are engaged in it.